Finishing a Journey - Week 12 of My Software Development Bootcamp

Finishing a Journey - Week 12 of My Software Development Bootcamp

Well, I’m done.

Another goal is checked off the list.

This past week was a rush of finalizing things and preparing for our project presentation.

Overall, I’m really proud of our group and the project we were able to deliver.

I really believe a software development bootcamp is an endurance event.


Wake up. Do the work. Go to bed. Repeat.

When I started this blog I don’t think I really understood how much of an overlap there was going to be in the required mindset for this experience and completing a thru-hike. It was a helpful lens for me to deal with the challenges I faced during this program.

Now that I am done, I am having similar moments of reflection and exhaustion.

I opened my course prep-work assignment a few days ago and compared it to my capstone. I really have learned a lot in the last twelve weeks. Screen Shot 2022-04-28 at 2.35.50 PM.png

I have a new resume. I have a portfolio site (dave-bailey.dev). I have a LinkedIn (linkedin.com/in/dave-andrew-bailey). I have technical projects.

I’m proud of what I was able to accomplish during this program.

One thing I have learned from finishing my hikes is the importance of taking a moment to celebrate and relax a bit.

I’m a very, “what’s next?,” kind of person. I can easily move on. I have to be intentional to enjoy a moment.

After almost all of our hikes, Leisel and I have taken trips to celebrate our accomplishments.

We joke that it’s a vacation from our vacation, but anyone who has completed a thru-hike knows that there’s not a lot of vacation happening on the trail.

We’ve been blessed with some pretty amazing experiences:

After the AT, we went to Acadia and Cape Cod. IMG_4483.jpeg

After the PCT, we went to Hawaii. IMG_0390.jpeg

After the Long Trail, we went to the Outer Banks of NC. DSC04210.jpeg

We’ve decided to take a similar approach for this experience. Next week we’re going to Italy to celebrate, and I’m excited and ready.

A week of no code, commitments or zoom-calls.

We’re going to celebrate the new life we’ve started here in Vermont, and get recharged for the things that are ahead.

We leave on Friday. Until then, I’m excited to clean up the projects I pushed to finish, reach out to some friends I’ve neglected over the past three months, and celebrate coming to the end of another metaphorical trail before shifting my focus and drive to continuing to learn and find a job.

First, Italy. Second, we'll see. It will be an adventure. I’m sure.