Reaching Halfway - Week 6 of My Software Development Bootcamp

Reaching Halfway - Week 6 of My Software Development Bootcamp

I’m halfway done with my bootcamp.

It’s a little hard to believe.

I’ve learned a lot in the last six weeks. It’s actually pretty crazy.

I’ve done basically nothing else for a month and a half but learn and practice writing code.

This week, for example, we were introduced to the back-end. My time has been given to request and response. code.png

On the trail when I’ve reached the halfway point there has always been a mixture of emotions. I feel proud of all the work that it took to get to that point. I feel overwhelmed that I’m only halfway done, “Can I really do all that I just did another time?” I also feel a bit of panic that the trip will be over too soon, “It’s already half over! You need to savor this and get everything out of it!” IMG_6629.jpeg

I feel like I’m having similar feelings now. I’m proud of all the work that I have put in. I’m psyching myself up for the challenge of doing the second half. Plus, I’m feeling the stress of squeezing every drop out of this experience.

In this bootcamp, I’ve only worked on learning and writing code, all day…everyday. On the trail I only walk, all day…everyday. Both of these experiences, thru-hikes and my bootcamp, have created an incredible transformation in me but they both do come with costs. IMG_3634.jpeg

I feel surprisingly healthy for being in such an intense learning environment, but like in hiking this program has created some unhealthy habits I’ll be excited to drop when it’s over. On the trail, it’s fun to eat candy bars and walk a marathon everyday, but for me there always comes a point where I want to trade in my freedom for sleep and a salad instead. I’ve loved this learning experience and am thankful to my wife for supporting me through it, but I am looking forward to having more of myself to give to her and other things each day.

The realities of a thru-hike and this bootcamp are good, bad, easy, and hard. I’m halfway. I have knowledge and memories from this experience I am thankful for and proud of, but there is still a lot of trail left ahead. IMG_6368.jpeg

Better get hiking; well, coding I guess.